Local Government

Uyo Local Govt Chairman Promises Synergy With Traditional Rulers For Sustainable Development

The executive chairman of Uyo Local Government Area, Dr. Uwemedimo Udo, has said that his administration will work harmoniously with traditional rulers for the peace, progress, sustainable social and economic development in the area. Udo made this known when he led members of the executive and legislative arms of Uyo Local Government Council on a courtesy visit to members of Uyo Traditional Rulers Council on Thursday, February 11, 2021. The chairman said the council officials resolved to visit the royal fathers and interact with them as custodians of the tradition and heritage of Uyo people. The Uyo helmsman noted that the role of the traditional institution in bringing about the desired good governance, especially at the grassroots, could not be overemphasised, hence the need to maintain good synergy with the royal fathers. Receiving the council delegation at the Uyo TRC Secretariat, Wellington Bassey Way, was the paramount ruler of Uyo, Edidem Sylvanus Effiong Okon. Edidem Okon appreciated the executive chairman and other council officials for deeming it fit to pay homage to their royal fathers as he gave them his royal blessings. The paramount ruler stated that traditional rulers in Uyo Local Government Area are solidly behind the council and would join hands with the present administration for a successful tenure. Speaking through the clan head of Oku, Etebom Enefiok Okpon, the Uyo TRC listed the challenges of the council to include: lack of computer system for administrative work, repairs of generating set, air conditioners and water pumps, lack of public address system, impress for the paramount ruler and clan heads, among others. In his response, Dr. Udo promised to address the different challenges faced by Uyo TRC in order to improve on the welfare of the royal fathers. The executive chairman was accompanied on the visit by the vice chairman of the council, Pastor Sylvia Ekong; Leader of Uyo Legislative Council, Mr Ubong Effiong; council secretary, Obioabasi Ubongabasi Udofia; deputy House Leader, Mr Emem Uduak, Esq Chief Whip, Emeti Aniekan; councillor representing Etoi III, Ward 6, Nsikak Essien and Christiana Bassey, councillor representing Offot III, Ward 9.

You can share this post!

Related Posts


Leave Comments